The Most Astounding Fact – Dr. Neil DeGrasse Tyson

Recently, I have discovered the works / discoveries of one of the most famous Astrophysicist that we have today, Dr. Neil DeGrasse Tyson. I was really unaware of his works, so ignorant that I only knew him through his famous “watch out we got a badass over here” meme.

20121023-010406.jpg

I learned that he is the current Director of Hayden Planetarium in New York City and he also has an educational TV show named NOVA Science NOW. He also has a radio show entitled “StarTalk” which talks about almost anything about Astrophysics. Which I also found out is in Podcast which you can download for free.

Now on the video, last week I was browsing videos on YouTube and I stumbled upon this “The Most Astounding Fact” video by Dr. Tyson. He was asked by the interviewer what is the most astounding fact about the universe. This was actually an excerpt from his 10 Questions interview with TIME Magazine.

Basically he answers the question and explains that the atom that we have which is present here on earth and in our body (nitrogen, oxygen and carbon etc.) is also present in the universe. In fact, those three elements are the most basic components of the universe. He further explains that an unstable star which go supernova/explodes scatters most of these elements in the universe. Which then become gas clouds that form the next generation of solar systems, planets and bring life itself. He further discuss that he feels a certain level of connectivity with the universe knowing that what we are made of is basically what is most present in the universe.

Dr. Tyson explains what he really feels about that fact and how astounding it is, knowing such. The video has been cleverly done, as while he is explaining his answer, a series of video footages and stills from space (taken from the Hubble telescope), landscapes, seascapes and other sceneries are being shown. The background music entitled “To build a home” was also a perfect song fit for this video.

It gives you that light positive feeling by just watching it. It actually feels very spiritual. And for sure some individuals, including myself, also did feel that level of connectivity between us and the universe.

It is very inspiring and it gives you hope and vibrant energy. I myself have watched this video several dozens of times. I was so fond of it that I even downloaded it and saved it on my iPod. And whenever I feel down and just need like a motivation or something that can get me back on track, I just sit back and watch this.

View the video and be the judge for yourself and hopefully you will also have a satisfying realization.

Kudos to Mr. Max Schlickenmeyer for editing and making this video happen!

